## SOCIETY FOR ETHNOMUSICOLOGY SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA CHAPTER

## **CHRONICLE**

Year	President	Vice President	Secretary- Treasurer	Student Representat ive	Meeting Location		
1960							
1961							
1962							
1963							
1964							
1965							
1966	Fred Lieberman, Ric Trimillos and Robert Kaufmann held offices. However, titles and dates are unknown,						
1967							
1968	Michael Crawford		Coralee Rockwell		UCLA		
1969							
1970	Ivan Vandor		Cynthia Kimberlin		UCLA		
1971							
1972	Don Addison						
1973							
1974							
1975							
1976							
1977		David Draper	Susan Clark				
1978	Don Niles	David Draper	Susan Clark		UCLA		
1979	Gordon Thompson						
1980	Jihad Racy		Susan Asai		Loyola		
					Marymount		
1981	David Draper	Tom Owens	Nora Yeh		UCLA		
1982	Gertrude Robinson	P. Sonnichsen	M. Shamrock		UCSB		
1983	Peter Manuel	Cynthia Schmidt	Ken Culley		UCLA		
1984					San Diego		
1985	William Carter		Mark Forry		Pomona		
1986	William Carter	Ed Henry	Paul Humphreys		UCLA		
1987	Ed Henry	Gertrude Robinson	Paul Humphreys		Loyola		
1988	Ed Henry	Gertrude	Lewis		San Diego		

		Robinson	Peterman		St.
1989	Gertrude Robinson	Jacqueline Djedje	Lewis Peterman		UCLA
1990	Gertrude Robinson	Jacqueline Djedje	Scott Marcus		UCLA
1991	Jacqueline Djedje	Lester Monts	Scott Marcus		UCSB
1992	Jacqueline Djedje	Lester Monts	Scott Marcus	Amy Corin	CSU Dominguez Hills
1993	Jacqueline Djedje	Paul Humphreys	Scott Marcus		San Diego St.
1994	Jacqueline Djedje	Paul Humphreys	Scott Marcus	Alissa Simon	UCLA
1995	Paul Humphreys	Amy Stillman	Scott Marcus	Nancy Currey, Kimasi Brown	UCSB
1996	Paul Humphreys	Amy Stillman	Louise Spear	Nancy Currey, Kimasi Brown	Pomona
1997	Amy Stillman	Rene Lysloff	Louise Spear	Patti Truchly	CSU Northridge
1998	Amy Stillman	Rene Lysloff	Louise Spear		UCLA
1999	Rene Lysloff	Fred Lau	Louise Spear		UC Riverside
2000	Nancy Guy	Cheryl Keyes	Paul Humphreys	Brana Mijatovic & Ellen Weller	Univ. of San Diego
2001	Nancy Guy	Cheryl Keyes	Paul Humphreys		UCSB
2002	Cheryl Keyes	Katherine Hagedorn	Ellen Weller	Matt Dorman	Pomona College
2003	Cheryl Keyes	Katherine Hagedorn	Ellen Weller		Loyola Marymont University
2004	Katherine Hagedorn	Tim Cooley	Ellen Weller		UCLA
2005	Katherine Hagedorn	Tim Cooley	Amy Corin	Liz Macy	Azusa Pacific
2006	Tim Cooley	Roger Savage	Amy Corin	Liz Macy & Marshall Howland	UCSD
2007	Tim Cooley	Roger Savage	Amy Corin	Marshall Howland & Genie Yoo	UCR

2008	Roger Savage	Jonathan	Amy Corin	Jake	UCSB
		Ritter	-	Rekedal	
2009	Roger Savage	Jonathan	Amy Corin	Jake	UCLA
		Ritter	-	Rekedal	
2010					Scripps
					College
					[volunteered
					by Candida
					Jaquez]

Ki Mantle Hood Prize

The prize is awarded for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the annual meeting of the SEM Southern California Chapter. The awardees are:

1994 Jean Kidula (UCLA), "The Appropriation of Western-Derived Music Styles into Kenyan Traditions: A Case Study of Some Nairobi Christian Musics"

Honorable mention to Helena Simonette (UCLA), "Cowbell Sound in Swiss Folk Music: From Naturalness to Ideology"

1995 Sherrie Tucker (UC-Santa Cruz), "West Coast Women: A Jazz Genealogy"

Honorable Mention to:

Nancy Currey (UCSB), "The Personalization of History: The Many Bases of Meaning for a Present-Day Algerian Andalusian Musician"

Mark DeWitt (UC David), "California as a Field Site for Studying Cajun and Zydeco Music and Dance"

Nicola Mulholland (UCSB), "So Who's Dancing Tahitian in California: Issues in Cultural Practices and Non-Indigenous Participants"

David Trasoff (UCSB), "The Changing Sarod: Tracing the Historical Development of an Instrument in Modern India"

1996 David Ake (UCLA), "Time, Narrative, and the Jazz Tradition in Bill Frisell's 'Have a Little Faith'"

Honorable Mention to:

Mark Tusler (UCSB), "'Rutsubo' (Taiko L.A.): Issues of Repertory, Performance Practice, and Ideologies"

Minako Waseda (UCSB), "Iemoto System in Traditional Japanese Music in California: Its Transformation and Influences"

1997

- Heidi Feldman (UCLA), "Which Side are you On? Cultural Politics and the Art-Ethnography Continuum?"
- 1999 Charles Sharp (UCLA), ""Where is the Riot in Zoot Suit Riot?"
- 2000 Sonia Tamar Seeman (UCLA) is the winner of the Ki Mantle Hood Prize for her paper "You're Roman!' Musical Practice and the Creation of Social Categories among Roman (Gypsy) Communities of Western Turkey."

Honorable Mention to:

- Amy Frishkey (UCLA), "The Sacralization of the Soprano: Negotiated Realities in the Symbolic Mode."
- 2001 Christi-Anne Castro (UCLA), "Dularawan: Composing the Philippine Nation."
- 2002 Tom Grunland (UCSB), "Makin' the Bucks and Wearin' the Tux: Issues of Transience, Tourism, and Transnationalism in the Lives of Cruise Ship Musicians."
- 2003 Angela Rodel (UCLA), "Extreme Noise Terror: Punk Rock and the Aesthetics of Badness"
- 2004 Christine Zanfagna (UCLA), "Soul Train, Unchained: Locating the 'Spirit' in Hip Hop."

Honorable Mention to:

William Robert Hodges (UCSB), "'Come On, Grieve With Me Now': Referencing, Reframing, and (Re)presenting Grief through Pop Laments in Toba Batak (North Sumatra, Indonesia)."

- 2005 Katherine Meizel (UCSB), "'Be a Fan, Not a Hater': Identity Politics and the Audience in *American Idol*."
- 2006 Denise Regina Gill (UCSB), "Performing *Mesk*: Negotiating the Historical Composition(s) of Being in Turkish Classical Music."
- 2007 Lillie S. Gordon (UCSB), "We will be serving tea and ta miyya': the discursive formation of a music venue in Cairo."

Honorable Mention to:

Barbara Taylor (UCSB), "The Banjo: In, But Not Of America."

2008 Jake Rekedal (UCR), "Bluegrass, Counterculture, and Postmodern Hillbillies"

Honorable Mention to:

Sonja Lynn Downing (UCSB), "Fieldwork Methods for Doing Research with Children and Music in Bali"

2009

Memo from Chapter President Amy Stillman, 1998 Society for Ethnomusicology Southern California Chapter

Greetings! The academic year is in full swing. The ranks of ethnomusicologists in southern California have increased yet again, as we extend greetings to new arrivals among faculty and students alike, in particular Dr. Helen Rees, newly appointed Assistant Professor at UCLA, and Dr. Ron Emoff, Visiting Lecturer at UCSB.

We mourn the loss of Dr. Marnie Dilling, Assistant Professor at UCSD, who was an active member of our chapter. It is with great fondness to recall the memorable program she organized for the 1993 meeting at San Diego State University; her grace and presence will be missed.

We also wish departing colleagues well in their new locations: Dr. Gini Gorlinski, formerly of CSU-San Marcos now at Northwestern University, Dr. Nancy Guy, Visiting Lecturer last year at UCSB now at Western Michigan University, Dr. Joseph Lam, formerly of UCSB now at University of Michigan, and Andrew Weintraub, lecturer last year at UCSD and now at University of Pittsburgh.

As the fall progresses, it is time to begin turning thoughts toward our annual chapter meeting. While discussions are still in progress over a meeting site and dates, I invite SEMSCC members to consider plans and contributions for the program. Your chapter officers--myself, Rene Lysloff, Louise Spear, and student rep Patti Truchly--have been discussing possible ways to enliven our annual chapter meeting. Increasing interactivity, roundtable discussions, position papers with responses--these are some suggestions that immediately come to mind; the commonality among them is that they are departures from conventional paper sessions. Thoughts, anyone? Opinions? Suggestions? Let's hear them! Contact me at akstill@humanitas.ucsb.edu